kernel - Reduce the size of the callout wheel
authorMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Mon, 10 Dec 2012 23:11:46 +0000 (15:11 -0800)
committerMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Fri, 14 Dec 2012 03:16:16 +0000 (19:16 -0800)
commit4e9492a2de2db3eb2c3ba2c331d664c7f9829132
tree041473f73c1de039997a1d30edc381f929c56f7f
parent47abd9f81a11b87d5f2a581a832527a2662c6093
kernel - Reduce the size of the callout wheel

* The callout wheel is per-cpu but ncallout is calculated based on memory.
  A system with many cpus tended to allocate an excessive amount of memory
  in aggregate for the callout wheels.

* Reduce the size of the per-cpu callout wheel by approximately a factor
  of (ncpus).  On a 16G machine with 8 cores, aggregate callout wheel
  allocations is reduced from 128MB to 16MB.
sys/kern/kern_timeout.c