kernel - Fix longstanding VM long-duration stall issues (2)
authorMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Sat, 30 Oct 2010 05:46:29 +0000 (22:46 -0700)
committerMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Sat, 30 Oct 2010 05:51:28 +0000 (22:51 -0700)
commit96e082160094ceaee3c27b207f6a4e72cffb07cb
treea9a5944dd2139db961e3ce5bd63b4705b8f32218
parent1499c493dc0eb28f7cea4bc2a24e5a1e3a4b9e37
kernel - Fix longstanding VM long-duration stall issues (2)

* Refactor the pageout daemon's hysteresis, in particular the
  free page queue had no real hysteressis and could cause excessive
  pagedaemon wakeups.

  Use a calculation that maintains a free page queue about half the
  size of the minimum cache queue, giving us pretty good pipelining
  when a system is under constant memory pressure.

* Add a sysctl for monitoring ppwakeups (wakeups of processes waiting
  for memory).
sys/sys/vmmeter.h
sys/vm/vm_meter.c
sys/vm/vm_page.c
sys/vm/vm_page2.h
sys/vm/vm_pageout.c