libz: Add symbol versions (not active)
authorJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Thu, 13 Jun 2013 16:11:56 +0000 (18:11 +0200)
committerJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Thu, 13 Jun 2013 16:23:51 +0000 (18:23 +0200)
commitb7f9d9a20da5be3f04c2422af95723ab2f428b78
treee3638ae50e31172bbbb24eb67bf89610ef4d65dc
parent4cc8caef016d5b3dbf5eb396e27f7eb1e8a6afce
libz: Add symbol versions (not active)

Every time symbol versioning is added to a system library, it will
require a full buildworld for the next build.  In addition, if the major
version isn't bumped, it will break the binary packages that link to it.

The working plan is to add versioning to libaries, but not hook it into
the build unless "RELEASE36" is defined.  When all the libraries have
been versioned, then these conditions will be removed so only one full
buildworld will be required to minimize inconvenience to users.

All versioned libraries will be bumped with the exception of libc as it
has already been bumped for branch 3.5, thus libc.so.7 is already
available.  In other words, we bump to avoid package breakage and that's
no longer an issue for libc.

After this commit, libz will build as before unless RELEASE36=yes is
defined in make.conf or passed to make during buildworld.
lib/libz/Makefile
lib/libz/Symbol.map [new file with mode: 0644]