Comment out the session line for PAM's xdm config. This works around
authorMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Sun, 1 Feb 2009 08:28:30 +0000 (00:28 -0800)
committerMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Sun, 1 Feb 2009 08:36:15 +0000 (00:36 -0800)
a widely known bug in xdm where a PAM callback can cause xdm to access
a bogus widget pointer after the widget has been destroyed.

With-help-from: Sephe

etc/pam.d/xdm

index 31d1607..866de96 100644 (file)
@@ -17,7 +17,10 @@ account              required        pam_unix.so
 
 # session
 #session       required        pam_ssh.so              want_agent
-session                required        pam_lastlog.so          no_fail
+# xdm has a software bug in it where session callbacks can occur
+# after the widget has been destroyed, causing a seg-fault.  Commenting
+# out the session line works around the problem.
+#session       required        pam_lastlog.so          no_fail
 
 # password
 password       required        pam_deny.so