mkinitrd(8): gzip newly produced images
authorFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Thu, 10 Apr 2014 06:15:09 +0000 (08:15 +0200)
committerFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Thu, 10 Apr 2014 06:22:38 +0000 (08:22 +0200)
The space savings can be considerable with the current 15MB ramdisk images
beeing reduced to 3.9MB once compressed.

sbin/mkinitrd/mkinitrd.8
sbin/mkinitrd/mkinitrd.sh [changed mode: 0644->0755]

index c4d3408..2e86be7 100644 (file)
@@ -54,10 +54,10 @@ It will also copy the contents of
 onto the ramdisk, maintaining the same hierarchy.
 .Pp
 On completion, the final image will be copied to
-.Pa /boot/kernel/initrd.img ,
+.Pa /boot/kernel/initrd.img.gz ,
 ready to be used as an early userland.
 The base directory for
-.Pa kernel/initrd.img
+.Pa kernel/initrd.img.gz
 can be changed with the
 .Fl b
 option to an optional
old mode 100644 (file)
new mode 100755 (executable)
index d53440f..fd5bbf5
@@ -121,4 +121,5 @@ copy_content
 make_hier
 print_info
 destroy_vn
-mv ${TMP_DIR}/initrd.img ${BOOT_DIR}/kernel/initrd.img
+/usr/bin/gzip -9 ${TMP_DIR}/initrd.img
+mv ${TMP_DIR}/initrd.img.gz ${BOOT_DIR}/kernel/initrd.img.gz