doc - Add a note about %D removal in porting_drivers.txt document.
authorAntonio Huete Jimenez <tuxillo@quantumachine.net>
Thu, 7 Feb 2013 01:07:30 +0000 (02:07 +0100)
committerAntonio Huete Jimenez <tuxillo@quantumachine.net>
Thu, 7 Feb 2013 01:12:52 +0000 (02:12 +0100)
doc/porting_drivers.txt

index 30dc929..c084e73 100644 (file)
@@ -167,3 +167,25 @@ $DragonFly: doc/notes/porting_drivers.txt,v 1.4 2008/04/06 19:08:30 pavalos Exp
            goto retry;
 
 * MPASS macro - Replace it with KKASSERT
+
+* In DragonFly 3.3 format specifier %D was removed from kprintf. As a
+  replacement functions kether_ntoa() and hexncpy() were added.
+
+  - Ethernet address (MAC) to its hexadecimal form:
+
+       char ethstr[ETHER_ADDRSTRLEN + 1];
+       u_char hwaddr[6];
+
+       kprintf("MAC address %s\n", kether_ntoa(hwaddr, ethstr)
+
+  - Generic conversion (block of bytes to hexadecimal form):
+
+       char hexstr[18];
+       u_char mydata[6] = {1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ,6};
+
+       /*
+        * Below statement would print:
+        *
+        * 01-02-03-04-05-06
+        */
+       kprintf("%s\n", hexncpy(mydata, 6, hexstr, HEX_NCPYLEN(6), "-"));