gcc 4.4: Remove PIE profiling trigger
authorJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Thu, 5 May 2011 19:16:01 +0000 (21:16 +0200)
committerJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Thu, 5 May 2011 19:52:06 +0000 (21:52 +0200)
The support for Position Independent Executables came from FreeBSD.
Unfortunately, a bug in their initial commit was also carried over.
Removing the GCRT define from the i386 crtstuff makefile will stop
PIE binaries from generating *.gmon files as they are executed.  The main
software that suffers this are cups and samba.  Rebuilding those ports
after rebuilding world will fix this issue on the i386 platform, the only
one affected.

Report by mroland, issue 2063

lib/csu/i386/Makefile.csu

index 44a1248..a36a188 100644 (file)
@@ -22,7 +22,7 @@ crt1.o:               crt1_c.o crt1_s.o
        objcopy --localize-symbol _start1 crt1.o
 
 Scrt1_c.o:     crt1_c.c
-       ${CC} ${CFLAGS} -DGCRT -fPIC -DPIC -c -o Scrt1_c.o ${CSUDIR}/crt1_c.c
+       ${CC} ${CFLAGS} -fPIC -DPIC -c -o Scrt1_c.o ${CSUDIR}/crt1_c.c
 
 Scrt1.o:       Scrt1_c.o crt1_s.o
        ${LD} ${LDFLAGS} -o Scrt1.o -r crt1_s.o Scrt1_c.o