kernel: Set kern.ipc.shm_use_phys to 1 by default
authorFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Mon, 20 Aug 2012 06:17:29 +0000 (08:17 +0200)
committerFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Mon, 20 Aug 2012 06:46:08 +0000 (08:46 +0200)
* The only known user of SYSV shared memory is PostgreSQL

* It really needs physical allocation to perform well with high
  numbers of clients

* Physical allocation is now used by default

sys/kern/sysv_shm.c

index 42768f3..9854728 100644 (file)
@@ -117,7 +117,7 @@ struct      shminfo shminfo = {
        0
 };
 
        0
 };
 
-static int shm_use_phys;
+static int shm_use_phys = 1;
 
 TUNABLE_LONG("kern.ipc.shmmin", &shminfo.shmmin);
 TUNABLE_LONG("kern.ipc.shmmni", &shminfo.shmmni);
 
 TUNABLE_LONG("kern.ipc.shmmin", &shminfo.shmmin);
 TUNABLE_LONG("kern.ipc.shmmni", &shminfo.shmmni);