tcp/syncache: Increase SYN|ACK max retransmit attempts from 3 to 4
authorSepherosa Ziehau <sephe@dragonflybsd.org>
Wed, 11 Apr 2012 14:07:24 +0000 (22:07 +0800)
committerSepherosa Ziehau <sephe@dragonflybsd.org>
Wed, 11 Apr 2012 14:10:23 +0000 (22:10 +0800)
- It matches what the comment says: 15 seconds timeout, if RFC6298 is
  not enabled.
- Add comment about the timeout if RFC6298 is enabled.

sys/netinet/tcp_syncache.c

index cef5f8b..424d2cd 100644 (file)
@@ -151,10 +151,11 @@ static struct syncache *syncookie_lookup(struct in_conninfo *,
 
 /*
  * Transmit the SYN,ACK fewer times than TCP_MAXRXTSHIFT specifies.
- * 3 retransmits corresponds to a timeout of (1 + 2 + 4 + 8 == 15) seconds,
- * the odds are that the user has given up attempting to connect by then.
+ * 4 retransmits corresponds to a timeout of (3 + 3 + 3 + 3 + 3 == 15) seconds
+ * or (1 + 1 + 2 + 4 + 8 == 16) seconds if RFC6298 is used, the odds are that
+ * the user has given up attempting to connect by then.
  */
-#define SYNCACHE_MAXREXMTS             3
+#define SYNCACHE_MAXREXMTS             4
 
 /* Arbitrary values */
 #define TCP_SYNCACHE_HASHSIZE          512