uuids.5: Fix error and improve wording
authorThomas Nikolajsen <thomas@dragonflybsd.org>
Sun, 8 Feb 2009 14:41:59 +0000 (15:41 +0100)
committerThomas Nikolajsen <thomas@dragonflybsd.org>
Sun, 8 Feb 2009 15:03:14 +0000 (16:03 +0100)
 * UUID is 128 bit; not 64 bit

share/man/man5/uuids.5

index e86fcf2..90f3995 100644 (file)
@@ -31,7 +31,7 @@
 .\"
 .\" $DragonFly: src/share/man/man5/uuids.5,v 1.2 2008/07/28 12:38:36 swildner Exp $
 .\"
-.Dd July 27, 2008
+.Dd February 8, 2009
 .Os
 .Dt UUIDS 5
 .Sh NAME
 .Sh DESCRIPTION
 A
 .Nm
-file contains a list of UUIDs and their symbolic names.
+file contains a list of UUIDs (universally unique identifiers) and their symbolic names.
 .Pp
 Each line in a
 .Nm
 file, other than comment lines that begin with a
 .Sq # ,
-specifies an UUID and its symbolic name.
+specifies a UUID and its symbolic name.
 The first field is the UUID, the second field is the name,
 they are separated by tabs or spaces.
-An UUID is a 64 bit number formatted this way:
+A UUID is a 128 bit number written in hexadecimal and formatted like this:
 01234567-89ab-cdef-0123-456789abcdef,
-i.e. 16 hexadecimal digits, with
-.Sq -
+i.e. 16 hexadecimal digits, with dash
+.Pq Sq - ,
 after digit no. 8, 12, 16 and 20.
-A name is a text string enclosed in
-.Sq \&" .
+A name is a text string enclosed in double quotes
+.Pq Sq \&" .
 .Sh EXAMPLES
-An UUID with name
+A UUID with name
 .Dq test UUID :
 .Bd -literal -offset indent
 # test uuids(5) file