md.4: Include kernel module description & adjust example for devfs chnage
authorThomas Nikolajsen <thomas@dragonflybsd.org>
Mon, 28 Sep 2009 19:51:06 +0000 (21:51 +0200)
committerMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Wed, 30 Sep 2009 00:53:06 +0000 (17:53 -0700)
share/man/man4/md.4

index c59ab29..f858e8b 100644 (file)
@@ -8,7 +8,7 @@
 .\" $FreeBSD: src/share/man/man4/md.4,v 1.3.2.4 2001/06/18 22:00:12 dd Exp $
 .\" $DragonFly: src/share/man/man4/md.4,v 1.5 2007/11/07 21:38:00 swildner Exp $
 .\"
-.Dd July 4, 2000
+.Dd September 28, 2009
 .Dt MD 4
 .Os
 .Sh NAME
@@ -21,6 +21,14 @@ To specify the default maximum size of
 .Xr kmalloc 9
 backed disks:
 .Cd options MD_NSECT=20000
+.Pp
+Alternatively, to load the driver as a module at boot time, place the
+following line in
+.Pa /boot/loader.conf :
+.Bd -literal -offset indent
+md_load="YES"
+.Ed
+.Pp
 .Sh DESCRIPTION
 The
 .Nm
@@ -107,10 +115,9 @@ backed
 device on
 .Pa /tmp :
 .Bd -literal
-if [ -e /dev/md0s0 -a -e /dev/md0s0c ]; then
-       disklabel -r -w md0s0 auto && \\
-       newfs /dev/md0s0c && \\
-       mount /dev/md0s0c /tmp && \\
+if [ -e /dev/md0 ]; then
+       newfs /dev/md0 && \\
+       mount /dev/md0 /tmp && \\
        chmod 1777 /tmp
 fi
 .Ed