rc: Let dhcpcd(8) go to background immediately by default
authorAaron LI <aly@aaronly.me>
Fri, 14 Dec 2018 14:08:26 +0000 (22:08 +0800)
committerAaron LI <aly@aaronly.me>
Fri, 14 Dec 2018 14:18:36 +0000 (22:18 +0800)
Set the default value of "dhcpcd_flags" to be "-b", thus don't let
dhcpcd(8) block the boot, especially when there is no wireless
connection, with the default settings.

etc/defaults/rc.conf
share/man/man5/rc.conf.5

index aeb7253..022a808 100644 (file)
@@ -60,7 +60,7 @@ dhcp_client="dhclient"                # Name of the rc script that is called to start
                                # the DHCP client, e.g., "dhcpcd" or "dhclient"
 dhcpcd_enable="NO"             # Set to YES to run dhcpcd in master mode.
 dhcpcd_program="/sbin/dhcpcd"
-dhcpcd_flags=""
+dhcpcd_flags="-b"
 dhclient_program="/sbin/dhclient"      # Path to dhcp client program.
 dhclient_flags="-w"            # Additional flags to pass to dhcp client.
 firewall_enable="NO"           # Set to YES to enable firewall functionality
index e3126e2..536e57a 100644 (file)
@@ -24,7 +24,7 @@
 .\"
 .\" $FreeBSD: src/share/man/man5/rc.conf.5,v 1.197 2003/07/28 13:56:00 mbr Exp $
 .\"
-.Dd December 11, 2018
+.Dd December 14, 2018
 .Dt RC.CONF 5
 .Os
 .Sh NAME
@@ -319,6 +319,11 @@ program (default
 Additional flags to pass to the
 .Xr dhcpcd 8
 program.
+The default value is
+.Fl b ,
+i.e., tell
+.Xr dhcpcd 8
+to go to background immediately.
 .It Va pf_enable
 .Pq Vt bool
 Set to