Update the sem_init(3) manpage - shared semaphores are supported now.
authorHasso Tepper <hasso@estpak.ee>
Tue, 30 Jun 2009 06:43:03 +0000 (09:43 +0300)
committerHasso Tepper <hasso@estpak.ee>
Tue, 30 Jun 2009 06:46:28 +0000 (09:46 +0300)
It might need some more info about how shared semaphores are implemented
etc though.

lib/libpthread/sem_init.3

index 97324f4..89432a7 100644 (file)
@@ -27,7 +27,7 @@
 .\"
 .\" $FreeBSD: src/lib/libc_r/man/sem_init.3,v 1.1.2.9 2001/12/17 10:08:26 ru Exp $
 .\" $DragonFly: src/lib/libc_r/man/sem_init.3,v 1.2 2003/06/17 04:26:48 dillon Exp $
-.Dd April 15, 2009
+.Dd June 30, 2009
 .Dt SEM_INIT 3
 .Os
 .Sh NAME
@@ -48,8 +48,7 @@ to have the value
 .Fa value .
 A non-zero value for
 .Fa pshared
-specifies a shared semaphore that can be used by multiple processes, which this
-implementation is not capable of.
+specifies a shared semaphore that can be used by multiple processes.
 .Pp
 Following a successful call to
 .Fn sem_init ,
@@ -74,8 +73,6 @@ will fail if:
 exceeds SEM_VALUE_MAX.
 .It Bq Er ENOSPC
 Memory allocation error.
-.It Bq Er EPERM
-Unable to initialize a shared semaphore.
 .El
 .Sh SEE ALSO
 .Xr sem_destroy 3 ,
@@ -86,14 +83,3 @@ Unable to initialize a shared semaphore.
 .Fn sem_init
 conforms to
 .St -p1003.1-96 .
-.Pp
-This implementation does not support shared semaphores, and reports this fact
-by setting
-.Va errno
-to
-.Er EPERM .
-This is perhaps a stretch of the intention of POSIX, but is
-compliant, with the caveat that
-.Fn sem_init
-always reports a permissions error when an attempt to create a shared semaphore
-is made.