msgport.9: Catch up with recent changes to lwkt_initport_spin().
authorNuno Antunes <nuno.antunes@gmail.com>
Mon, 17 Sep 2012 05:16:52 +0000 (06:16 +0100)
committerNuno Antunes <nuno.antunes@gmail.com>
Mon, 17 Sep 2012 05:19:30 +0000 (06:19 +0100)
share/man/man9/msgport.9

index 0e77fec..4fab272 100644 (file)
@@ -31,7 +31,7 @@
 .\" OF THE USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF
 .\" SUCH DAMAGE.
 .\"
-.Dd August 12, 2012
+.Dd September 17, 2012
 .Dt MSGPORT 9
 .Os
 .Sh NAME
@@ -61,7 +61,7 @@
 .Ft void
 .Fn lwkt_initport_thread "lwkt_port_t port" "struct thread *td"
 .Ft void
-.Fn lwkt_initport_spin "lwkt_port_t port"
+.Fn lwkt_initport_spin "lwkt_port_t port" "struct thread *td"
 .Ft void
 .Fn lwkt_initport_serialize "lwkt_port_t port" "struct lwkt_serialize *slz"
 .Ft void
@@ -212,6 +212,7 @@ The
 .Fn lwkt_dropmsg
 will dequeue the specified message from the target port it was sent to and makes
 it look like it was never sent.
+This function can only be used by the thread that owns the target port.
 .Sh PORT FUNCTIONS
 The
 .Fn lwkt_initport_thread
@@ -228,7 +229,16 @@ The
 initializes the specified
 .Fa port
 with the default 'spin' port type handlers.
-It will also initialize the embedded spinlock within the
+The
+.Fa td
+argument defines the owner thread of the port, for cases where thread built-in
+ports are initialized as 'spin' ports.
+If
+.Dv NULL
+is passed, then the port will not have a defined owner, so functions like
+.Fn lwkt_dropmsg
+will not be available for this port.
+This function will also initialize the embedded spinlock within the
 lwkt_port structure which will protect subsequent port access.
 .Pp
 The