Page was written twice
[ikiwiki.git] / docs / developer / luxh / index.mdwn
index d651e3c..32fd38c 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,5 @@
 ###Some stuff I always forget.
-####Console
-echo -h >> /boot.config<br>
+####Serial console
 echo console=comconsole >> /boot/loader.conf<br>
 ttyd0   "/usr/libexec/getty std.9600"   dialup  on secure
 
@@ -18,12 +17,17 @@ mk.conf:
        DISTDIR=                /distfiles
        WORKOBJDIR=             /usr/pkgobj
        PACKAGES=               /packages
-       UPDATE_TARGET=          package
+       UPDATE_TARGET=          package # don't think this is needed now that USE_DESTDIR is yes by default.
+       CFLAGS+=                -g # don't bmake clean, it'll remove the source.
+       INSTALL_UNSTRIPPED=     yes
 
 ####hammer
-root PFS can't be mirrored.
+root PFS can't be mirrored.<br>
+if the filesystem gets completely filled up, do hammer viconfig and shorten snapshot retention time. then run hammer prune, and maybe hammer reblock as well.
 
 ####time machine
+I gave up on all this. Backing up with Time Machine usually works for some time (a half-through backup) and then cnid_metad gets a fit and thinks it's a good idea to force the exported volume read only. Backup fails and you have to start over. I heard this got even worse with Lion. I'm going to backup my important stuff with rsync and NFS.
+
 net/netatalk<br>
 net/avahi
 
@@ -40,7 +44,9 @@ netatalk/afpd.conf:
 
 netatalk/AppleVolumes.default:
 
-       /time_machine/ "Time Machine" options:tm allow:luxh
+       /time_machine/ "Time Machine Volume" options:tm allow:time_machine
+
+where /time_machine is the directory you want to share and time_machine your user.
 
 avahi/services/afpd.service:
 
@@ -59,4 +65,6 @@ avahi/services/afpd.service:
        </service>
        </service-group>
 
-You then click the server in Finder, type in your username and password (remember password). You *CAN NOT* log in on the same server with more than one user.
+You then click the server in Finder, type in your username and password and then double click the volume so so it mounts. Go to Time Machine and choose it. You will be asked to type in the password. Now you can unmount the volume. Time Machine will keep track of it and mount when it needs it. Remember that in Finder, you can only log in with one user name per server at a time. However, Time Machine can have its own separate user that you only need to use once, when mounting the volume first time.
+
+At the moment Time Machine sometimes complains that the CNID DB on the volume is messed up, and it refuses to back up. Somehow it repairs itself and works later on.