Merge from vendor branch GCC:
[dragonfly.git] / contrib / amd / AUTHORS
CommitLineData
984263bc
MD
1# -*- text -*-
2PRIMARY AUTHORS AND MAJOR CONTRIBUTORS TO AM_UTILS:
3
4Original authors of amd were the Berkeley team and especially Jan-Simon
5Pendry. Since then many people have contributed patches.
6
7This file lists the ones who contributed major code changes, in no
8particular order, and I thank them all. This is of course not to diminish
9the smaller contributes of the many others. Thank you all.
10
11* Erez Zadok <ezk@cs.columbia.edu>
12
13The most significant changes were made by Erez Zadok in terms of bug fixes,
14ports, and new features added. Erez Zadok is the current maintainer of
15am-utils, as of January 1997.
16
17There is a mailing list dedicated to developers of am-utils. To subscribe
18to it, send mail to majordomo@majordomo.cs.columbia.edu, with the body of
19the message having the single line "subscribe amd-dev".
20
21* Randall S. Winchester <rsw@glue.umd.edu>
22
23May 7, 1997: contributed a special version of upl102 that included NFS V.3
24support. Some of the code was contributed by Christos Zoulas
25<christos@deshaw.com>. I (Erez) ported these changes to am-utils.
26
27September 12, 1997: lots of small prototype cleanups and fixes to numerous
28files.
29
30January 27, 1998: support pid files in the amd.conf file. Provide base name
31for hesiod zone files. Always use /etc/amd.conf if exists.
32
33August 8, 1998: add detection support for NFS V.3 for NetBSD 1.3F.
34
35February 1, 1998: fixes for NetBSD to better detect its features.
36
37September 4, 1999: assorted fixes for NetBSD 1.4+.
38
39* Hannes Reinecke <hare@MathI.UNI-Heidelberg.DE>
40
41Back in 1995, contributed code for linux. A new parser for file system
42specific options that only exist under linux.
43
44* Leif Johansson <leifj@matematik.su.se>
45
46June 22, 1997: minor patch to ensure that systems without an RE library work.
47
48June 23, 1997: mount options should be properly comma limited.
49
50July 10, 1997: info_ldap.c and prototype changes to all map _init and _mtime
51functions. Contributed scripts/amd2ldif.pl.
52
53August 4, 1997: info_ldap.c fixes and adding two new amd.conf ldap
54variables: ldap_cache_seconds and ldap_cache_maxmem.
55
56* Andreas Stolcke <stolcke@speech.sri.com>
57
58June 22, 1997: patches to ensure that proto= and vers= options work
59properly in mount tables and can be overridden. Later on, more code
60contribued to optimize the best combination of proto/vers.
61
62July 4, 1997: patches to get NFS V.3 working under irix5.
63
64September 9, 1997: initialize all fields of mntent_t structures to 0.
65
66October 2, 1997: don't log an RPC timeout as an error but only as an info
67message.
68
69December 19, 1997: detected an FMR (Free Memory Read) in amd/mntfs.c,
70uninit_mntfs().
71
72* Danny Braniss <danny@cs.huji.ac.il>
73
74July, 6 1997: contributed patches to hesiod on bsdi3.
75
76* Tom Schmidt <tschmidt@micron.com>
77
78July 10, 1997: Recommdation to include libgdbm if libc has no dbm_open.
79Patches for netgrp(host) command. Mods to aux/config.guess to recognize
80sun3.
81
82January 19, 1998: print correct -l option depending if system supports
83syslog and/or syslog facilities.
84
85January 29, 1998: fix for 0.0.0.0 loopback on SunOS 3.X which defines
86IFF_ROUTE instead of IFF_LOOPBACK.
87
88* Daniel S. Riley <dsr@mail.lns.cornell.edu>
89
90July 11, 1997: fixes to DU-4.0 to support string POSIX.1 signals, and struct
91sockaddr with sa_len field.
92
93July 13, 1997: Move amd.conf parsing to before switch_option() on log/debug
94options. Minor type wrt "ro" option in libamu/mount_fs.c. Added more
95fillers of mnttab options, for acdirmax, acdirmin, acregmax, acregmin, noac,
96grpid, nosuid, and actimo.
97
98August 15, 1998: fix memory leak in processing of /defaults, and avoid
99accessing uninitialized memory in osf1.
100
101* Roman Hodek <Roman.Hodek@informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
102
103July 23, 1997: Got lots of patches from the Debian Linux folks, who fixed
104several generic bugs, and one serious one for Linux. The latter involved
105using connected sockets for NFS mounts on kernels 1.3.10 and older. Roman's
106work is baed on amd-upl102, and work from Ian Murdock <imurdock@debian.org>
107and Dominik Kubla <dominik@debian.org>.
108
109* Rainer Orth <ro@TechFak.Uni-Bielefeld.DE>
110
111August 6, 1997: assorted fixes to support hesiod-1.3, solaris 2.4 (which I
112already fixed but did not release yet), and support for $LDFLAGS at
113configure/compile time.
114
115February 24, 1998: lots of patches for ultrix 4.3 port.
116
117February 28, 1998: lots of documentation fixes!
118
119January 8, 1999: texi fixes, and more Ultrix 4.3 fixes, among others.
120
121January 11, 1999: hesiod_isup function. Fix format errors in dlog/plog.
122Remove obsolete or unnecessary files/macros. Don't report disabled file
123systems. More misc fixes.
124
125February 3, 1998: don't start autofs listener unless autofs maps were in
126use.
127
128* Jason Thorpe <thorpej@nas.nasa.gov>
129
130August 25, 1997: make amd work when talking to NIS+ servers in NIS
131compatibility mode. Fix originally came from Matthieu Herrb
132<matthieu@laas.fr>.
133
134* Chris Metcalf <metcalf@catfish.lcs.mit.edu>
135
136August 29, 1997: patch to make amd use FQHN for NFS/RPC authentication,
137useful esp. for cross-domain NFS mounts.
138September 2, 1997: if plock() succeeded, don't display errno string.
139
140* Enami Tsugutomo <enami@cv.sony.co.jp>
141
142September 4, 1997: don't ping remote servers with NFS V.3 always, but V.2,
143regardless of client's NFS version. (conf/transp/transp_sockets.c)
144
145* Dan Riley <dsr@mail.lns.cornell.edu>
146
147September 19, 1997: make sure that amd works with more secure portmappers
148that do not allow forwarding of RPC messages to other services.
149
150* Wolfgang Rupprecht <wolfgang@wsrcc.com>
151
152August 10, 1997: netbsd and other bsd systems have a mask flag for
153pcfs_args (msdos mount).
154
155* Christos Zoulas <christos@deshaw.com>
156
157September 25, 1997: fix to initialize uid/gid fields of pcfs_args_t on
158netbsd.
159
160October 10, 1997: compile time cleanups of printf()s in hlfsd code. If nfs
161server is down or does not support a portmapper call, then mark it down as
162version 2, and try again later.
163
164* Bill Paul <wpaul@ctr.columbia.edu>
165
166November 5, 1997: NFS v.3 support for AIX 4.2.1, which does *not* include
167headers for this. Bill had to guess at the right structures, field names,
168sizes, alignment, etc.
169
170January 15, 1999: small ldap bug fixes.
171
172* Stefan Vogel <vogel@physik-rzu.unizh.ch>
173
174November 14, 1997: typo in the subscription instructions to amd-dev.
175
176* Guntram Wolski <gwolsk@sei.com>
177
178November 15, 1997: pointed out mismatching documentation for the -o option.
179
180* Michael Hucka <hucka@eecs.umich.edu>
181
182January 11, 1997: pointed out reversed definition of NFS mount options vers
183and proto.
184
185* Albert Chin <china@pprd.abbott.com>
186
187January 12, 1998: minor bug in output of amd -H.
188
189* Thomas Richter <richter@chemie.fu-berlin.de>
190
191January 13, 1998: use case insensitive comparisons for variables that need
192it (such as all hostname related ones, and more).
193
194July 20, 1998: don't leak memory in the private version of yp_all (when
195vendor yp_all is bad).
196
197* Fred Korz <korz@smarts.com>
198
199January 30, 1998: minor typo fixed to tftp example in am-utils.texi.
200
201* Donald Buczek <buczek@MPIMG-Berlin-Dahlem.MPG.DE>
202
203March 6, 1998: correctly inherit existing NFS V.3 mounts upon restart.
204
205March 17, 1998: compare log file name and syslog string with correct length.
206
207March 20, 1998: do not close stdout in case it gets reused elsewhere and to
208allow startup script to redirect it. Set a temporary secure umask(0022)
209before writing log file and restore it afterwards.
210
211* Matthew Crosby <mcrosby@ms.com>
212
213April 20, 1998: allow arbitrary number of interfaces in wire listing.
214
215* David O'Brien <obrien@NUXI.com>
216
217September 4, 1998: bug fix to avoid overrunning hostname buffer, and minor
218amd.conf man page typo correction.
219
220September 22, 1999: use more secure vsnprintf in real_plog().
221
222* Danny Rathjens <dkr@cs.fiu.edu>
223
224October 29, 1998: swap arguments to kill(2) in amd.c.
225
226* Mike Mitchell <mcm@unx.sas.com>
227
228November 3, 1998: amd/nfs_subr.c (nfsproc_lookup_2_svc): try to avoid a race
229condition between unmounting and re-mounting an entry, by increasing the ttl
230of a looked up entry before unmounting it.
231
232* Douglas K. Rand" <rand@aero.und.edu>
233
234December 3, 1998: case insensitive host name match for nfsl.
235
236* David Wolfskill <dhw@whistle.com>
237January 28, 1999: don't turn on/off noconn option if it was already in that
238state.
239
240* Jeffrey C Honig <jch@BSDI.COM>
241March 14, 1999: clean up more autogenerated files upon "make distclean".
242
243March 15, 1999: avoid overly verbose NIS warning even on systems that don't
244run NIS. On BSD systems, wire.c uses getifaddrs(), sysctl(), IRS routines,
245and more fixes. Numerous IP packet security fixes.
246
247March 16, 1999: documentation typos. new cdfs options. ufs structure
248detection for bsdi4.
249
250September 17, 1999: fixes to expn.
251
252* Paul Balyoz <pbalyoz@sedona.ch.intel.com>
253March 26, 1999: ensure lostaltmail displays Y2K compliant dates.
254
255* Jon Peatfield <J.S.Peatfield@damtp.cam.ac.uk>
256March 30, 1999: turn off incomplete NFS V.3 support in HPUX 10.20.
257
258September 22, 1999: safe reloading of maps without first clearing old
259copies, and using cached copies if map failed to reload.
260
261* Peter Breitenlohner <peb@mppmu.mpg.de>
262July 24, 1999: patch for linux 2.2.x to work with older libc5 systems, and
263nis_isup mis-logic fixes.
264
265* Dale Talcott <aeh@quest.cc.purdue.edu>
266July 26, 1999: added NFS3 support for AIX mounting.
267
268* Christophe Kalt <Christophe-Kalt@deshaw.com>
269July 14, 1999: add netgrpd() syntax function which uses FQHN.
270
271* Andrew J. Korty <ajk@purdue.edu>
272September 5, 1999: pawd works for type:=nfsl.
273
274* Nick Williams <njw@ms.com>
275September 1, 1999: bug fix for incorrect symlinks when two locations are
276requested simultaneously.