kernel - SWAP CACHE part 21/many - more manual page adjustments
authorMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Wed, 17 Feb 2010 08:16:57 +0000 (00:16 -0800)
committerMatthew Dillon <dillon@apollo.backplane.com>
Wed, 17 Feb 2010 08:19:10 +0000 (00:19 -0800)
* Explain data caching issues with NFS

share/man/man8/swapcache.8
usr.bin/chflags/chflags.1

index 1714dbe..4002bea 100644 (file)
@@ -156,6 +156,17 @@ A typical setup is something like this:
 .Dl chflags cache /etc /sbin /bin /usr /home
 .Dl chflags noscache /usr/obj
 .Pp
+Alternatively if you have NFS mounts where chflags does not work you
+can enable caching in some parent directory, then selectively disable
+it.
+.Pp
+.Dl chflags cache /
+.Dl chflags noscache /usr/obj /tmp /var/tmp
+.Pp
+If that doesn't work you can turn off
+.Cd vm.swapcache.use_chflags
+entirely and not bother with any chflagging.
+.Pp
 .It Cd vm.swapcache.maxfilesize
 This may be used to reduce cache thrashing when a focus on a small
 potentially fragmented filespace is desired, leaving the
index bad5958..f7fc8c8 100644 (file)
@@ -235,7 +235,10 @@ If use_chflags is turned on along with data_enable then only
 subtrees marked cacheable will be swapcached.
 .Pp
 You would typically want to enable the cache on /usr, /home, and /bin
-and disable it for /usr/obj.
+and disable it for /usr/obj.  Alternatively if you want to cache
+NFS mounts (where chflags doesn't work), you can set the flag on
+some parent directory, possibly even the root ( "/" ) itself,
+and then selectively disable it in places where you don't want it.
 .Pp
 This only applies to data caching.  Meta-data caching is universal when
 enabled.