top(1): Silence gcc warnings.
authorStathis Kamperis <beket@dragonflybsd.org>
Fri, 4 Sep 2009 17:22:49 +0000 (20:22 +0300)
committerStathis Kamperis <beket@dragonflybsd.org>
Sat, 5 Sep 2009 00:31:17 +0000 (03:31 +0300)
The ORDERKEY_XXX() macros build up a deeply nested set of if-statements.
E.g.,

if (expr)
   if (expr)
      if (expr)
        if (expr)

The last if-statement needs to contain nothing (every expression has
its own side effect, so the whole cascade is actually meaningful). Using
a ; though, makes gcc generate warnings regarding 'empty body in if
statements'. That's why we, instead, use:

ORDERKEY_FOO1
ORDERKEY_FOO2
...
ORDERKEY_FOO3
{}

We could have embedded the {} in the definition of the macro itself, but
that would break if someone rearranged the macros' call order.

Reviewed-by: dillon@
usr.bin/top/machine.c

index 89e14df..7615f1b 100644 (file)
@@ -767,7 +767,7 @@ proc_compare(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_PRIO
     ORDERKEY_RSSIZE
     ORDERKEY_MEM
-    ;
+    {}
 
     return(result);
 }
@@ -812,7 +812,7 @@ compare_size(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_CPTICKS
     ORDERKEY_STATE
     ORDERKEY_PRIO
-    ;
+    {}
 
     return(result);
 }
@@ -839,7 +839,7 @@ compare_res(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_CPTICKS
     ORDERKEY_STATE
     ORDERKEY_PRIO
-    ;
+    {}
 
     return(result);
 }
@@ -868,7 +868,7 @@ compare_time(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_PRIO
     ORDERKEY_RSSIZE
     ORDERKEY_MEM
-    ;
+    {}
 
       return(result);
   }
@@ -897,7 +897,7 @@ compare_prio(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_STATE
     ORDERKEY_RSSIZE
     ORDERKEY_MEM
-    ;
+    {}
 
     return(result);
 }
@@ -923,7 +923,7 @@ compare_thr(const void *arg1, const void *arg2)
     ORDERKEY_STATE
     ORDERKEY_RSSIZE
     ORDERKEY_MEM
-    ;
+    {}
 
     return(result);
 }