libc: Remove stack_protector.c from build
authorJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Tue, 1 Sep 2015 19:53:00 +0000 (21:53 +0200)
committerJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Tue, 1 Sep 2015 19:56:45 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
Both gcc47 and gcc50 use libssp for stack protection, so the stack
protector code appears to be obsolete.  On the direction of dillon,
just delist the source file in the makefile, and after a month with
some dports run experience, permanently remove stack-protector.c
from lib/libc/sys directory.

lib/libc/sys/Makefile.inc

index 3c12731..85c8d1a 100644 (file)
@@ -26,8 +26,10 @@ SRCS+=       pread.c pwrite.c preadv.c pwritev.c
 # Add machine dependent asm sources:
 SRCS+=${MDASM}
 
+# After 1 OCT 2015, verify no impacts with 3rd party software, then
+# remove the following 2 lines and the stack_protector.c source file
 # Add stack dependant asm sources:
-SRCS+=         stack_protector.c
+# SRCS+=               stack_protector.c
 
 # Look through the complete list of syscalls (MIASM) for names that are
 # not defined with machine dependent implementations (MDASM) and are