<sys/cdefs.h>: Add a __heedresult macro to warn of discarded return values.
authorSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:24:46 +0000 (23:24 +0100)
committerSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:40:51 +0000 (23:40 +0100)
It's an alias for __attribute__((__warn_unused_result__)) and can be used
to mark functions whose return value must never be ignored by the calling
code.

sys/sys/cdefs.h

index 59a0621..ac9029d 100644 (file)
 #define __section(x)
 #define __always_inline
 #define __nonnull(x)
+#define __heedresult
 
 #else
 
 #endif
 
 #if __GNUC_PREREQ__(3, 3)
+#define __heedresult   __attribute__((__warn_unused_result__))
 #define __nonnull(x)    __attribute__((__nonnull__(x)))
 #define        __used          __attribute__((__used__))
 #else
+#define __heedresult
 #define __nonnull(x)
 #define __used         __unused
 #endif