mountd(8): Change default uid/gid to nobody/nogroup (65534/65533)
authorAaron LI <aly@aaronly.me>
Fri, 10 Nov 2017 11:38:10 +0000 (19:38 +0800)
committerSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Wed, 14 Mar 2018 08:20:22 +0000 (09:20 +0100)
commit19e6154dd4c873698a0ae01a6d2f2e9793d15b04
tree59465ea148b053931f1d179a18619d9e7637702f
parent611231b9189c7b0119817d1c40a3bf008b84cabe
mountd(8): Change default uid/gid to nobody/nogroup (65534/65533)

The default values found in /etc/passwd and /etc/group are 65534, 65533.
In mountd.c, the defaults were -2, which was 65534 back when uid_t was 16bits.
Without this patch, a file created by root on an NFS exported volume without
the "-root=" export option will end up owned by uid 4**32 - 2.
When discussed on freebsd-current@, it seemed that users preferred the
values being changed to 65534/65533.
I have not added code to acquire these values from the databases, since
the mountd daemon might get "stuck" during startup waiting for a non-responsive
password database server.

Taken-from: FreeBSD usr.sbin/mountd/mountd.c r318262
sbin/mountd/exports.5
sbin/mountd/mountd.c