makedb: Fix apropos database generation better across release/master.
authorSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Fri, 17 May 2019 14:20:45 +0000 (16:20 +0200)
committerSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Fri, 17 May 2019 14:21:02 +0000 (16:21 +0200)
commit3269e7564bfccc78cc8443cbc81eb0ea193f77ed
treefc016220cba09884d0c19afbb1d1bea075712312
parent3cc72d3d3aea9e3acebc0ac1df54d8731b77d653
makedb: Fix apropos database generation better across release/

The apropos database format used by our new man(1) is different and
incompatible to that used by our old man(1). The files are also named
differently, mandoc.db (new) and whatis (old).

So it makes no sense to use the old makewhatis on new systems or the
new makewhatis on old systems. If the desired makewhatis does not
exist, then we just don't generate the db, because the building system
doesn't have the makewhatis needed to generate it.

Once installed, the database will be updated regularly as per weekly
periodic.
share/man/Makefile