ifconfig(8): Do not wrongly use 'create' as hostname
authorAaron LI <aly@aaronly.me>
Sun, 12 Apr 2020 14:12:14 +0000 (22:12 +0800)
committerAaron LI <aly@aaronly.me>
Sun, 12 Apr 2020 14:20:46 +0000 (22:20 +0800)
commit421c46af64c8b876df8356afa8a3af5fa977fdf1
tree3f727f3935c9e3e8ebdde10ee7ab8e4d8fb13cb0
parentb2dae6435bc5f6ad302e31151fc99b6b28f42cca
ifconfig(8): Do not wrongly use 'create' as hostname

Do not allow to use the 'create' keyword as a hostname when ifconfig(8)
is invoked for an already existing interface.

Without this commit, ifconfig(8) assumes the 'create' keyword as a
hostname and tries to resolve it when 'ifconfig ifname create' invoked
for an already existing interface.  This can produce some misleading
error messages (e.g., 'create: bad value') or even unexpected results
(e.g., when the hostname resolving succeeds).

With this commit, when an interface is already exists and the 'create'
is the only argument, return an error message.  But when there are some
other arguments, just ignore the 'create' keyword and carry on.

Obtained from FreeBSD:
https://github.com/freebsd/freebsd/commit/e383c28ab5b8d0bdc15281e7522c368d56ac1a76
https://reviews.freebsd.org/D17171
sbin/ifconfig/ifconfig.c