etc/network.subr: enhance wlan initialization
authorDaniel Fojt <df@neosystem.org>
Fri, 29 May 2020 17:34:24 +0000 (19:34 +0200)
committerDaniel Fojt <df@neosystem.org>
Tue, 2 Jun 2020 05:41:08 +0000 (07:41 +0200)
commit69dc5784ab8eeaccac82e440c7d219e1a95d5589
treeb8a763186d5b255114e282a9b0c4bd971de42bfa
parente497da300246cce37f375ab46a25f7d5895ad976
etc/network.subr: enhance wlan initialization

Introduce new functions wlan_get_unused() and wlan_is_parent(),
and extend wlan_up() to utilize them.

With this change, devices configured the traditional way in rc.conf(5)
are created first, and then all other wireless interfaces are assigned
to next available wlan<index> devices automatically.

This allows either to have wlan configured manually in rc.conf(5) via
"wlans_<iface>" or to remove the static assignment and let devices be
auto-created. With dhcpcd_enable and wpa_supplicant_enable in rc.conf,
no further configuration is then needed to get network connectivity.

Furthermore, this will allow to enhance devd(8) default configuration,
so that also hot-pluggable wireless interfaces are automatically detected
and brought up (ie. assigned to wlan<index> devices).

Reviewed by: Aaron LI
etc/network.subr