Add README for basic locale source file generation
authorJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Tue, 10 Nov 2015 08:40:17 +0000 (09:40 +0100)
committerJohn Marino <draco@marino.st>
Tue, 10 Nov 2015 08:43:58 +0000 (09:43 +0100)
Bapt wrote this README for FreeBSD, let's bring it in as a starting point.

tools/tools/locale/README [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/tools/tools/locale/README b/tools/tools/locale/README
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..b121ae0
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,18 @@
+# $FreeBSD: head/tools/tools/locale/README 290625 2015-11-09 23:23:29Z bapt $
+
+To generate the locales:
+
+Tools needed: java, perl and devel/p5-Tie-IxHash
+
+fetch cldr data from: http://cldr.unicode.org
+extract in a directory ~/unicode/cldr/v27.0.1 for example
+fetch unidata from http://www.unicode.org/Public/zipped/ (latest version)
+extract in a directory ~/unicode/UNIDATA/8.0.0 for example
+
+either modify tools/tools/locales/etc/unicode.conf or export variables:
+CLDRDIR="~/unicode/cldr/v27.0.1"
+UNIDATADIR="~/unicode/UNIDATA/8.0.0"
+
+run:
+make POSIX
+make install