groff(1): disable hyphenation and change bullet representation
authorFranco Fichtner <franco@lastsummer.de>
Sat, 24 Aug 2013 10:49:11 +0000 (12:49 +0200)
committerSascha Wildner <saw@online.de>
Sun, 25 Aug 2013 10:18:44 +0000 (12:18 +0200)
In order to switch to mandoc(1) eventually we want groff(1) to
output manual pages as similar as possible.  Hyphenation is the
biggest offender.

Approved-by: swildner
Taken-from:  OpenBSD

contrib/groff/tmac/troffrc
contrib/groff/tmac/tty.tmac

index 7915596..f0ee89b 100644 (file)
@@ -41,12 +41,18 @@ troffrc!X100 troffrc!X100-12 troffrc!lj4 troff!lbp troffrc!html
 .\" Set the hyphenation language to `us'.
 .do hla us
 .
 .\" Set the hyphenation language to `us'.
 .do hla us
 .
-.\" Load hyphenation patterns and exceptions.
-.do hpf hyphen.us
-.do hpfa hyphenex.us
-.if '\*[.T]'koi8-r' \
-.      do hpfa hyphen.ru
-.
+.\" Disable hyphenation:
+.\" Do not load hyphenation patterns and exceptions.
+.\" do hpf hyphen.us
+.\" do hpfa hyphenex.us
+.\" if '\*[.T]'koi8-r' \
+.\"       do hpfa hyphen.ru
+.\"
+.\" Disable adjustment by default,
+.\" such that manuals look similar with groff and mandoc(1).
+.ad l
+.de ad
+..
 .\" Handle paper formats.
 .do mso papersize.tmac
 .
 .\" Handle paper formats.
 .do mso papersize.tmac
 .
index f1f773c..ae3cd49 100644 (file)
@@ -17,7 +17,7 @@
 .  if c\[md] \
 .    tr \[bu]\[md]
 .
 .  if c\[md] \
 .    tr \[bu]\[md]
 .
-.fchar \[bu] \z+o
+.fchar \[bu] o
 .fchar \[14] 1/4
 .fchar \[12] 1/2
 .fchar \[34] 3/4
 .fchar \[14] 1/4
 .fchar \[12] 1/2
 .fchar \[34] 3/4