firmware(9): Change type of data pointer
authorFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Tue, 29 Nov 2016 21:23:16 +0000 (22:23 +0100)
committerFrançois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Tue, 29 Nov 2016 21:39:54 +0000 (22:39 +0100)
* from const void * to const uint8_t *

* Avoiding tedious and error-prone void * conversions in Linux drivers

share/man/man9/firmware.9
sys/bus/u4b/wlan/if_run.c
sys/sys/firmware.h

index d16732a..df87d09 100644 (file)
@@ -40,7 +40,7 @@
 .Bd -literal
 struct firmware {
        const char      *name;          /* system-wide name */
-       const void      *data;          /* location of image */
+       const uint8_t   *data;          /* location of image */
        size_t          datasize;       /* size of image in bytes */
        unsigned int    version;        /* version of the image */
 };
index 3116785..fabe211 100644 (file)
@@ -1150,7 +1150,7 @@ run_load_microcode(struct run_softc *sc)
        }
 
        /* cheap sanity check */
-       temp = fw->data;
+       temp = (const void *)fw->data;
        bytes = *temp;
        if (bytes != be64toh(0xffffff0210280210ULL)) {
                device_printf(sc->sc_dev, "firmware checksum failed\n");
index 47c84bb..31b7886 100644 (file)
@@ -50,7 +50,7 @@
  */
 struct firmware {
        const char      *name;          /* system-wide name */
-       const void      *data;          /* location of image */
+       const uint8_t   *data;          /* location of image */
        size_t           datasize;      /* size of image in bytes */
        unsigned int     version;       /* version of the image */
 };