patch(1): Add dry-run alias for compatibility with other implementations
authorRobin Hahling <robin.hahling@gw-computing.net>
Sun, 16 Nov 2014 19:11:36 +0000 (20:11 +0100)
committerFran├žois Tigeot <ftigeot@wolfpond.org>
Sun, 16 Nov 2014 19:25:42 +0000 (20:25 +0100)
Other implementations of patch(1), including GNU patch, "svn patch" and
FreeBSD patch have a --dry-run option which does the same as our -C or
--check option.

Add --dry-run alias to increase compatibility.

Taken-from: FreeBSD

usr.bin/patch/patch.1
usr.bin/patch/patch.c

index 63eda17..9cfbf1d 100644 (file)
@@ -21,7 +21,7 @@
 .\"
 .\" $OpenBSD: patch.1,v 1.26 2010/09/03 11:09:29 jmc Exp $
 .\" $FreeBSD: head/usr.bin/patch/patch.1 249373 2013-04-11 18:46:41Z joel $
-.Dd February 6, 2014
+.Dd November 16, 2014
 .Dt PATCH 1
 .Os
 .Sh NAME
@@ -107,7 +107,7 @@ This is equivalent to specifying
 This option is currently the default, unless
 .Fl -posix
 is specified.
-.It Fl C , Fl Fl check
+.It Fl C , Fl Fl check , Fl Fl dry-run
 Checks that the patch would apply cleanly, but does not modify anything.
 .It Fl c , Fl Fl context
 Forces
index 73bab16..c1a551f 100644 (file)
@@ -469,6 +469,7 @@ get_some_switches(void)
                {"context",             no_argument,            0,      'c'},
                {"debug",               required_argument,      0,      'x'},
                {"directory",           required_argument,      0,      'd'},
+               {"dry-run",             no_argument,            0,      'C'},
                {"ed",                  no_argument,            0,      'e'},
                {"force",               no_argument,            0,      'f'},
                {"forward",             no_argument,            0,      'N'},